Schipper’s – Scallywag

schippers-scallywagHaving recently tried and tested Bach Brewing’s Duskrider I wanted to see how it stacked up to a similar style ‘rich amber’ ale created by Niels Schipper called Scallywag.

The back of the bottle blurb claims the Scallywag has a ‘velvety balance of malt and hops that makes it very easy to drink’. I agree, it was very easy to drink, but the balance, for me at least, favoured the bitterness from the hops. With an IBU of 45 it’s probably not a surprise either.

Poured, the Scallywag is on the cloudy side with a modest head. The flavours are fruity with a touch of caramel that blend nicely. I was hoping for a little more malty goodness but all-in-all it was a tasty and distinctive ale.

 In comparison, the Duskrider (a red IPA), I felt had better balance and I expected the Scallywag to be a little less bitter.

The Schipper’s label artwork is always a bit of fun and Scallywag features a crusading dog-riding mouse wielding a sword. I tweeted Niels about the significance of the imagery… sadly my grammar was lacking…

schipper-twitter

Music choice:

To accompany this cheeky ale I’ve selected an 80’s classic by Men At Work – Be Good Johnny.
Brewer info:
(Check out the awesome footer image!)

One thought on “Schipper’s – Scallywag

  1. Classic tune! I haven’t tried this beer, but I’d like to. You’ve got to love the Schipper’s beer labels; they’re seriously cool.

    Like

Leave a comment